Webinar and teleconference: Global Data and Mapping to Understand Food Insecurity

posted on July 17, 2017 11:02am

  • Pin It
  • Share on Tumblr

On Wednesday, July 19 at 10 a.m. Eastern/7 a.m. Pacific/2 p.m. GMT, join the World-Wide Human Geography Data (WWHGD) Working Group for an in-depth and revealing investigation on data associated with crop identification, food insecurity and the potential for famine, focused on the following objectives:

  • Identify data and mapping that can assist in better locating and understanding the next areas of concern in regard to multi-bread basket failures or other areas of extreme food insecurity.
  • Explore stressors that may lead to multi-state food crises and the impacts of those potential crises through mapping and data.
  • Explore other human geography data sources that may have an influence on droughts, crop changes and food shortages.

WWHGD is a global voluntary partnership around human geography mapping and data. It has more than 4,000 members from over than 80 countries, and helps facilitate the exchange of free and open data for all aspects of human security.

Registration for the webinar is open at https://wwhgd.org. You must “Create a New Account” or have an existing account to register for the webinar. Once you can log-in as a member, you can register for the event.

If you have questions, contact Terri Ryan at 757-810-7681/ryan_terri@bah.com, Gwyneth Holt at 850-687-3674 /holt_gwyneth@bah.com, or Alex Hatoum (in Spanish, French or Portuguese) at 202-503-4007/AHatoum@ihs-i.com.

Here’s a copy of the agenda:

Food_Insecurity_Webinar_Agenda_1.pdf